Introduction …

Greetings all.

This is my first attempt at a blog, but here goes. I thought I would start a blog showing the impending start of my model railway.

But first, a bit about myself.

I am a 39 year old male, single, but currently enjoying the company of a wonderful woman and her 5 year old son. I live in Port Macquarie on the mid north coast of New South Wales, Australia. I am currently employed as a Network Operator with Country Energy, the local electricity distributor.

I have been modelling the railways of NSW for over 20 years now, but until I purchased my current home back in 2005, I did not have the space to start building my model railway.

 


Most of the downstairs area has been dedicated to my model railway. When I purchased the house, the section underneath was just a big empty space with a concrete floor. There was no internal access to this area from the rest of the house, so a staircase from the garage was installed. This work started early 2006 and during the next 12 months, the area was framed and lined, giving the result below.

So now I have a fully lined, carpeted and airconditioned room for my model railway.

Over the last year or so, I have spent a long time desiging the layout, using a program called 3rd PlanIt. It has been a fun process, trying to fit the whole thing in. The program has been fantastic, as you can use it as just a basic 2D planning tool, or you can go the whole hog and add terrain, buildings etc. I just wanted to use it to make sure curves etc would fit in the room. The program has the facility of drawing easements or transition curves, which are essential for reliable and smooth flowing trackwork.

Click here for a diagram that has been produced with 3rd PlanIt showing my final layout design. The page opens up in a new window.

The layout will be based on a section of the NSWR Main North line between Kankool and Pangela in the Liverpool Ranges. Ardglen is at the top of 1 in 40 grades in both the UP and DOWN directions. The era will be set between late 1979 to 1983. Typical trains that will be modelled are block coal and wheat as well as passenger and general freight. The layout will be DCC controlled. It will be built to Proto87 track and wheel standards, which are scaled down from prototype dimensions to 1:87.1 . If you would like to know a bit more about Proto87, there are some sites listed in my Links section of this blog.

OK. That’s a brief introduction to what I am doing. I hope to actually start construction of some benchwork in the next 12 months, but I am in no hurry.

I will try to keep this blog up to date with progress.

Cheers for now.

Ian.

Posted on November 30, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Great work Ian – looking forward to seeing how you progress. My blog is located here – I am modeling Victoria in about 1971 period.http://vrwv.blogspot.com/CheersShelton.

Leave a Reply

