Peninsula benchwork complete …

Hi all,

Since the last post, I have been quite busy.  I have commenced more spline construction round the corner from Kankool onto the first peninsula section.  I have also now completed the second peninsula with wall frame.  Below are some shots of the benchwork during construction.

main peninsula benchwork

main peninsula benchwork

main peninsula benchwork with wall   main peninsula benchwork with wall

I am amazed at how sturdy the whole structure is now it is complete.  I was thinking I may have had to secure the wall to the floor joists above the ceiling tiles, but I found there is no need to.  To give some idea of size, this main peninsula is 8 metres long.

spline continues from Kankool

Just to finish off this post, the above photo shows the spline continuing along the first peninsula section from Kankool and onto the main peninsula.

It’s amazing now that I have most of the main benchwork up, how I can get more of a picture of how the layout will look.  Up until now, it’s just been a two dimensional drawing; very difficult to imagine how things will look.  But now I’m starting to visualise scenery and track elevations.  All good fun!!

Cheers.

Posted on December 2, 2011, in Benchwork and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

