ALCo’s arrive!! …

Hi all,

Well yesterday I took delivery of my long awaited Trainorama 48 class locomotives.  After a long six and a half year wait, I must say I am pleased with them.

I have not examined them closely yet, but initial observations show very nice detail, clean paintwork and lining along with quiet and smooth running (on DC).

I have already made a mental note of some minor improvements to be done, but I will go more into this in a future post, probably after I disassemble one to see what is required to convert to DCC.

The models have reversing headlights which appear as a yellow light and the red and white marker lights are nice and not too bright.  These also change with loco direction.

The model weighs in at 230 grams which feels nice in the hand and looks good when running.

It appears as if Trainorama have done their research well, as each locomotive number has their own uniqueness, including horn colour, step colours, coat of arms and builders plates.

As I said, I will write a more comprehensive review in a future post.

Enjoy!

Trainorama 48 class

Trainorama 48 class

Posted on January 10, 2015, in Locomotives and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Impressive sight to see them amassed like this. Mine are somewhere between Sydney and Texas right now–can’t believe after six+ years they’re on the way. It’s certainly reinvigorated my modeling efforts.

  2. These 48’s are superb runners, you won’t be disappointed. I look forward to more updates on them.Peter

  3. G’day Ian.
    Nice!
    Looking forward to reading about the conversion to P87, I’ve got one on order from Auscision.

    Tom (Murrum).

  4. That’s quite a fleet of 48’s! They look great in numbers like that.

    Greg.

    Greg Edwards – Data Sheets

    12 Whalan Place, Kaleen, ACT 2617

    Email; datashet@grapevine.com.au

    Website; http://grapevine.com.au/~datashet/

    _____

  5. Powerline or Traino?

Leave a Reply

